How to close your account
-
When closing your account in the mobile app, you will be prompted to
deactivate
or close any active features and clear their balances to $0 (including
pending
deposits, withdrawals, or dividends):
- USD Interest Account (US users only)
- Instant Credit
- Vault
- Equities
- Make sure your account balance is $0 and all pending transactions are finished.
- Go to Account Center (top left) > Profile > Close account. Then simply follow the instructions on-screen.
If you have less than $5 in your balance and you're unable to withdraw
(e.g.
because gas fees exceed $5), you will be given the option to donate
the balance
to charity as part of the account closing process.
If you don't have access to your account
Follow these steps if you're unable to login.
What about my personal information?
At Uphold, our philosophy is to retain as little customer data for as short a time as possible, and we endeavor to action any data deletion request as swiftly as we can.
As a financial institution, there are, however, certain instances where Uphold is required to hold or process data for a specific period of time to ensure compliance with global legal and/or regulatory obligations (including anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing laws and regulations).
In these cases, we may be unable to delete specific data until such time has passed.